# Editing and Finalizing a Layout Version

- Published on Sep 16, 2024
- 1 minute(s) read

After you create a Structured or Semi-structured layout, you can refine it and add to it until it’s ready to be deployed in a release.

When you make changes to the working version of a Structured or Semi-structured layout and want to include those changes in a release, you must commit your changes. When you commit your changes, you save the current state of the layout as a layout version, and the system automatically creates a new working version of the layout.

You can commit your changes while in the Layout Editor or on the layout details page.

## Commit changes from the Layout Editor

1. Click **Commit Changes** in the upper-right corner of the page.
   
   When you click on it, you’ll be shown which layout variations and field customizations, if any, will be affected by your changes.

2. Enter a name for the version in the **Version Name** text box, or click on one of the suggested version names.

3. (Optional) Describe what you have changed in the **Comments** text box.

4. Click **Save.**

## Commit changes from the layout details page

If there are changes to your layout that have not yet been committed, a “Currently Editing” card will appear at the top of the layout details page.

The card will show the following details:

- How many layout variations are affected by the changes, with a link to a list of those variations
- How many field customizations are affected by the changes, with a link to a list of those customizations
- The number of users who have made changes that have not yet been committed, with a link to a list of those users

If you are sure you want to commit the changes:

1. Click **Commit Changes**.
2. Enter a name for the version in the **Version Name** text box, or click on one of the suggested version names.
3. (Optional) Describe the changes in the **Comments** text box.
4. Click **Save.**
