Editing and Finalizing a Layout Version

Editing and Finalizing a Layout Version

After you create a Structured or Semi-structured layout, you can refine it and add to it until it’s ready to be deployed in a release.

When you make changes to the working version of a Structured or Semi-structured layout and want to include those changes in a release, you must commit your changes. When you commit your changes, you save the current state of the layout as a layout version, and the system automatically creates a new working version of the layout.

You can commit your changes while in the Layout Editor or on the layout details page.

Commit changes from the Layout Editor

  1. Click Commit Changes in the upper-right corner of the page.

    When you click on it, you’ll be shown which layout variations and field customizations, if any, will be affected by your changes.

  2. Enter a name for the version in the Version Name text box, or click on one of the suggested version names.

  3. (Optional) Describe what you have changed in the Comments text box.

  4. Click Save.

Commit changes from the layout details page

If there are changes to your layout that have not yet been committed, a “Currently Editing” card will appear at the top of the layout details page.

The card will show the following details:

If you are sure you want to commit the changes:

  1. Click Commit Changes.
  2. Enter a name for the version in the Version Name text box, or click on one of the suggested version names.
  3. (Optional) Describe the changes in the Comments text box.
  4. Click Save.